Search Menu
About Us
About Us

The roles and responsibilities of the Shrewsbury Colleges Group Board (or Governing Body) are many and varied. But the main roles and responsibilities (as determined by the Instruments and Articles) are summed up as follows:

  • The determination and periodic review of the educational character and mission of the institution and for the oversight of its activities
  • approving the quality strategy of the institution
  • the effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the institution and the Board and for safeguarding their assets
  • approving annual estimates of income and expenditure
  • the appointment, grading, suspension, dismissal and determination of the pay and conditions of service of the holders of senior posts and the Clerk including, where the Clerk is, or is to be appointed as, a member of staff, the Clerk’s appointment, grading, suspension, dismissal and determination of pay in the capacity of a member of staff
  • setting a framework for the pay and conditions of service of all other staff.

Other areas that are considered by the Board include:

  • Monitoring and evaluating the College's activities and services
  • strategic planning of long term issues as well as the short and medium term
  • involvement in the recruitment of senior post holders and the Clerk
  • promoting the College (where appropriate)
  • assessing the effectiveness of the Board (self-assessment)
  • ensuring compliance with legislation and policies adopted by the Board.

All Governors can only be contacted through the Clerk to the Governors - Tracy Cottee by email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or postal enquiries sent for the Clerk’s attention to:

Shrewsbury Colleges Group
London Road Campus

Become a Governor

If you would like to know more about the work of the Board and are interested in becoming a governor, please contact the Clerk for more information or complete the enclosed and send to the Clerk at the address above.

Student Governors

The Education and Training Foundation has commissioned a short film explaining the benefits of volunteering to be a governor and why people should consider putting themselves forward.

Student engagement is vital to the work of the Governing Body when it comes to improving the quality of teaching and learning and the student experience, and indeed wider governance issues in relation to the College. It is the day-to-day practice, people and resources that enable students to be effective and fully involved in relation to the College’s decision making processes.

Student Governors are a vital part of the College’s Leaner Voice. They work closely with the Student Council, to ensure the Board is made aware of issues affecting students, and that student experience is an integral part of all the Corporation’s decision-making. Find out more on the role of a Student Governor.

There is also information on the role of a Student Governor on the NUS website.


  • Roger Wilson

    Roger Wilson Chair of Board / Chair of Search and Governance Committee

    Roger is Group Chair, Vistage, Peer Group Advisory. He is formerly a Co-opted Finance & Business Operations Committee Member.

  • Mike Willmot

    Mike Willmot Vice Chair of Board

    Mike is a retired Assistant Principal for strategic planning at Newcastle under Lyme College, he continues with roles in the voluntary sector including Chair of North Staffs Community Rail Partnership and Trustee of the Burslem Ethical Trust. HE Lead Governor.

  • Andy Allen

    Andy Allen Chair of Quality, Standards & Curriculum Committee - Independent Governor

    Andy is Organisational Development Manager, Harper Adams University. He is a former Learning & Development Manager for NACRO and has extensive experience of supporting education partnerships, including creation and supervision of work experience programmes. Lead Governor for Apprentices and Marketing.

  • Albert Benghiat

    Albert Benghiat Independent Governor

    Albert is a former Associate Lecturer (Geology) at University of Derby and Clinical Director of Cancer Services and Consultant Oncologist, University Hospitals of Leicester.

  • Gordon Channon

    Gordon Channon Independent Governor

    Gordon is a former Board Director working in several high-profile companies. He formerly worked in the field of Finance and General Management. He is a Trustee of the Roy Fletcher Estates Trust and is Trustee and Chair of Board of Woodside Academy Primary School, Oswestry.

  • Christine Davies

    Christine Davies Independent Governor

    Christine is a former deputy head teacher who has extensive experience of the education sector.

  • Christina Gore

    Christina Gore Independent Governor

    Christina is a retired Speech and Language Therapist, Princess Royal Hospital who worked with Strokes and Voice Disorders. Retired Magistrate Shropshire Bench. She is the Board's Lead Governor for Equality & Diversity, Safeguarding and SEND.

  • Helen Hawksworth

    Helen Hawksworth Academic Staff Governor

    Helen is the Academic Staff Governor for the London Road Campus. She is a teacher of English and Maths/Access to Higher Education.

  • Richard Heath

    Richard Heath Chair of Finance & Business Operations Committee / Independent Governor

    Richard is Head of Financial Performance at Harper Adams University.

  • Robert Lopez

    Robert Lopez Parent Governor (London Road Campus)

    Robert is self-employed and is also currently a volunteer with the Nescliffe Conservation Society.

  • Nigel Merchant

    Nigel Merchant Chair of Audit Committee / Parent Governor

    Nigel is a Chartered Internal Auditor. He currently works in the field of Security and Business Continuity strategy. Audit and Risk Lead Governor.

  • Graham Mills

    Graham Mills Co-opted Finance & Business Operations Committee Member

    Graham is an Entrepreneur Club Development Consultant and Workplace Pensions Consultant. He is a former TSB/Lloyds Bank Commercial Manager.

  • David Pulford

    David Pulford Co-opted Finance & Business Operations Committee Member

    David has 40 years' experience in commercial property, town centre regeneration and retail facilities management. He is formerly an Independent Governor of both Shrewsbury Sixth Form College and Shrewsbury Colleges Group.

  • Kari Quant

    Kari Quant Independent Governor

    Kari is Summer Course Director at Concord College.

  • Rex Sartain

    Rex Sartain Independent Governor

    Rex is a School Bursar and retired Lieutenant Colonel.

  • Colin Sharp

    Colin Sharp Co-opted Audit Committee Member

    Colin has over 20 years’ FCA qualified with recent experience in a Finance Director role for a £28m turnover company in the manufacturing/ retail sector.

  • James Staniforth

    James Staniforth Principal & CEO

    Marches Local Enterprise Partnership Representative.

  • Mike Thompson

    Mike Thompson Independent Governor

    Mike joined the Board in November 2019. He is a former Parent Governor (London Road Campus).

  • Paula Tucker

    Paula Tucker Staff Governor (Support)

    Paula is the Progression Specialist for our Creative Arts and Media students, based at our English Bridge Campus.

  • Joe Wildman

    Joe Wildman Student Governor (16-18)

    Joe is currently in his second year at the College and is studying for three A Levels in English Literature, Classical Civilisations and Politics.

  • Claire Wassall

    Claire Wassall Student Governor (Higher Education)

    Claire is currently in studying for her Foundation Degree in Counselling.

Policies, Documents & Minutes

Diagram showing the Corporation Meeting Structure Outline